Tuesday, January 25, 2022

Andrew Luck, Champ Bailey, Rashaan Salaam headline 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class

The 2022 Hall of Fame class features 18 players and three coaches

Getty Images

The 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class was announced on Monday, featuring former Heisman-winning running back Rashaan Salaam, legendary defensive back Champ Bailey and record-setting quarterback Andrew Luck. The next class of inductees includes 18 players and three coaches. 

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

Luck helped turn Stanford into a powerhouse after throwing for 9,430 yards and 82 touchdowns in three seasons as a starter. The Cardinal went 23-3 in his final two seasons as Luck finished No. 2 in Heisman voting in both 2010 and 2011. The Indianapolis Colts selected Luck at No. 1 overall in the 2012 NFL Draft

Bailey has already been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame after putting together one of the most legendary defensive back careers of all time. He played offense, defense and special teams during a standout three-year career at Georgia en route to earning the Nagurski Trophy, which is given to college football’s best defender. Bailey played 33 games at Georgia and posted 147 tackles, 27 passes defended and eight interceptions in 24 starts. 

Salaam became only the fourth player to rush for 2,000 yards in a season en route to winning the Heisman Trophy in 1994. He led Colorado to an 11-1 record, including a victory in the Fiesta Bowl to secure the No. 3 ranking in the final AP Top 25 for the second time in program history. His 362 yards rushing against Texas remains a program record. He later became the youngest NFL player to ever rush for 1,000 yards. 

On the coaching side, Gary Pinkel led Missouri to some of its best seasons in program history, including top-five finishes in 2007 and 2013. The Tigers reached No. 1 in the nation behind star quarterback Chase Daniel in 2007 and capped off a 12-2 season with a Cotton Bowl ring. Prior to Mizzou, Pinkel was the winningest head coach in Toledo history with a 73-37-3 record and one of only four AP Top 25 finishes in program history. Pinkel won one conference championship at Toledo and a combined five Big 12 and SEC division championships. 

Here is a full list of this year’s players and coaches who will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame: 

  • LaVar Arrington — LB, Penn State (1997-99)
  • Champ Bailey — DB, Georgia (1996-98)
  • Michael Crabtree — WR, Texas Tech (2007-08)
  • Sylvester Croom — C, Alabama (1972-74)
  • Mike Doss — S, Ohio State (1999-2002)
  • Chuck Ealey — QB, Toledo (1969-71)
  • Kevin Faulk — AP/RB, LSU (1995-98)
  • Moe Gardner — DT, Illinois (1987-90)
  • Boomer Grigsby — LB, Illinois State (2001-04)
  • Mike Hass — WR, Oregon State (2002-05)
  • Marvin Jones — LB, Florida State (1990-92)
  • Andrew Luck — QB, Stanford (2009-11)
  • John Luckhardt — HC, Washington & Jefferson, California (PA) (1982-2011)
  • Mark Messner — DT, Michigan (1985-88)
  • Terry Miller — RB, Oklahoma State (1974-77)
  • Billy Jack Murphy — HC, Memphis (1958-71)
  • Gary Pinkel — Missouri, Toledo (1991-2015)
  • Rashaan Salaam — RB, Colorado (1992-94)
  • Dennis Thomas — C, Alcorn State (1971-73)
  • Zach Wiegert — OT, Nebraska (1991-94)
  • Roy Williams — DB, Oklahoma (1999-2001)

The class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner on Dec. 6. After two years in Las Vegas because of COVID-19 concerns, the dinner is expected to return to New York City in 2022. 

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.