Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Australian Open 2022: Draw, results, schedule, how to watch, stream, live updates, scores, TV channel

Everything you need to know about the year’s first Grand Slam

Getty Images

The year’s first Grand Slam tournament, the Australian Open, is less than a week away. Over 60 of the world’s best tennis players are ready to compete at Melbourne Park, including the controversial No. 1 seed and defending men’s singles champion Novak Djokovic. 

Djokovic, the world’s top-ranked men’s tennis player, was detained for four days after entering Australia on Jan. 5 without a valid COVID-19 vaccine medical exemption. The Serbian also added incorrect information to his travel declaration form, which could be grounds for deportation and criminal charges. 

As of Wednesday, Djokovic is still slated to compete for a record 21st Grand Slam title.

Last year’s women’s champion, Naomi Osaka, will defend her Australian Open title as a No. 13 seed. World No. 1 — and Australia’s own —  Ash Barty is favored to win the women’s singles title this year. 

Key players who won’t be competing in the 2022 Australian Open include Serena Williams, Dominic Thiem, Roger Federer, Milos Raonic, Kei Nishikori and Stan Wawrinka. Andy Murray, however, is returning to the tournament as a wild card after recovering from major hip surgery

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 Australian Open, beginning with the schedule: 


  • Men’s and women’s singles draws Jan. 13

  • Opening matches, Jan. 17

  • Quarterfinals, Jan. 25-26

  • Women’s semifinals, Jan. 26

  • Men’s semifinals, Jan. 26-27

  • Women’s singles final, Jan. 29

  • Men’s doubles final, Jan. 29

  • Men’s singles final, Jan. 30

  • Women’s doubles final, Jan. 30

(Note: U.S. TV viewers may see each stage of the tournament a day earlier than than listed because of time differences)  

Men’s singles seeding

  1. Novak Djokovic

  2. Daniil Medvedev

  3. Alexander Zverev 

  4. Stefanos Tsitsipas

  5. Andrey Rublev

  6. Rafael Nadal 

  7. Matteo Berrettini

  8. Casper Ruud

  9. Felix Auger Aliassime

  10. Hubert Hurkacz

  11. Jannik Sinner

  12. Cameron Norrie

  13. Diego Schwartzman

  14. Denis Shapovalov

  15. Roberto Bautista Agut

  16. Cristian Garin

  17. Gael Monfils

  18. Aslan Karatsev

  19. Pablo Carreno Busta

  20. Taylor Fritz

  21. Nikoloz Basilashvili

  22. John Isner

  23. Reilly Opelka

  24. Dan Evans

  25. Lorenzo Sonego

  26. Grigor Dimitrov

  27. Marin Cilic

  28. Karen Khachanov

  29. Ugo Humbert

  30. Lloyd Harris

  31. Carlos Alcaraz

  32. Alex de Minaur

Women’s singles seeding

  1. Ashleigh Barty

  2. Aryna Sabalenka

  3. Garbine Muguruza

  4. Barbora Krejcikova

  5. Maria Sakkari

  6. Anett Kontaveit

  7. Iga Swiatek

  8. Paula Badosa

  9. Ons Jabeur

  10. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

  11. Sofia Kenin

  12. Elena Rybakina

  13. Naomi Osaka

  14. Simona Halep

  15. Elina Svitolina

  16. Angelique Kerber

  17. Emma Raducanu

  18. Coco Gauff

  19. Elise Mertens

  20. Petra Kvitova

  21. Jessica Pegula

  22. Belinda Bencic

  23. Leylah Fernandez

  24. Victoria Azarenka

  25. Daria Kasatkina

  26. Jelena Ostapenko

  27. Danielle Collins

  28. Veronika Kudermetova

  29. Tamara Zidansek

  30. Camila Giorgi

  31. Marketa Vondrousova

  32. Sara Sorribes Tormo 

How to watch the 2022 Australian Open

  • Dates: Jan. 17-30
  • Time: Varies
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • TV: ESPN, Tennis Channel
  • Stream: fuboTV (try for free)

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.