Sunday, July 14, 2024

2022 March Madness, conference tournament brackets, automatic bids: Colgate wins Patriot League title

The Raiders are the 10th team to win an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament after defeating Navy in the Patriot League Tournament


College basketball’s conference tournament season hit overdrive on Wednesday as the postseason began in several major leagues and continued on throughout the Division I ranks. With automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament on the line this week, stakes are high for teams across the country looking to stay in the hunt for the sport’s ultimate prize.

Just one conference, the Patriot League, crowned a tournament champion on Wednesday, though, and it went to a familiar program as Colgate clinched its third straight NCAA Tournament appearance. The No. 1 seed Raiders beat No. 2 seed Navy 74-58 for their 15th straight victory. Getting it done was not easy for Colgate, however, as Navy rallied from a 24-point deficit to be within 58-52 with 6:22 remaining. The Midshipmen were seeking their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1998.

Though only a projected No. 15 seed in the NCAA Tournament by CBS Sports Bracketology Expert Jerry Palm, Colgate will be a team that no one wants to face in the first round of the Big Dance. As a No. 14 seed last season, the Raiders trailed by just three at halftime before losing 85-68 to Arkansas in a first round game. In 2019, Colgate nearly upset Tennessee as a No. 15 seed before losing 77-70 to the Volunteers.

With Selection Sunday just a few days away, here’s the full rundown of all those who have secured their spots in the 2022 NCAA Tournament.

Wednesday’s conference tournaments in action

2022 conference tournament schedules

Conference Tournament site Dates (Final TV) 2022 Champion 
AAC Fort Worth, Texas March 10-13 (ESPN)
ACC Brooklyn, N.Y. March 8-12 (ESPN)
America East Campus sites March 6, 9 & 12 (ESPN2)
Atlantic 10 Washington D.C. March 9-13 (CBSSN)
ASUN Campus sites March 1, 3, 5 & 8 (ESPN) Bellarmine (20-13) – x
Big East New York March 9-12 (Fox)
Big Sky Boise, Idaho March 9-12 (ESPNU)
Big South Charlotte, N.C. March 2, 4-6 (ESPN2) Longwood (26-6)
Big Ten Indianapolis March 9-13 (CBS)
Big 12 Kansas City March 9-12 (ESPN)
Big West Henderson, Nev. March 8, 10-12 (ESPN2)
Colonial Washington D.C. March 5-8 (CBSSN) Delaware (22-12)
Conference USA Frisco, Texas March 8-12 (CBSSN)
Horizon League Indianapolis March 1, 3, 7 & 8 (ESPN) Wright State (21-13)
Ivy League Cambridge, Mass. March 12-13 (ESPN2)
MAAC Atlantic City, N.J. March 8-12 (ESPNU)
MAC Cleveland, Ohio March  10-12 (ESPN2)
MEAC Norfolk, Va. March 9-12 (ESPN2)
Missouri Valley St. Louis March 3-6 (CBS) Loyola-Chicago (25-7)
Mountain West Las Vegas March 9-12 (CBS)
Northeast Campus sites Feb. 28, March 2, 5 & 8 (ESPN) Bryant (22-9)
Ohio Valley Evansville, Ind. March 2-5 (ESPN2) Murray State (30-2)
Pac-12 Las Vegas March 9-12 (Fox)  

Patriot Campus sites March 1, 3, 6 & 9 (CBSSN) Colgate (23-11)
SEC Tampa March 9-13 (ESPN)
Southern Asheville, N.C March 4-7 (ESPN) Chattanooga (27-7)
Southland Katy, Texas March 9-12 (ESPN2)
Summit Sioux Falls, S.D. March 5-8 (ESPN2)
Sun Belt Pensacola, Fla. March 3, 5-7 (ESPN2) Georgia State (18-10)
SWAC Birmingham, Ala. March 9-12 (ESPNU)
WAC Las Vegas March 8-12 (ESPNU)
West Coast Las Vegas March 3-5 & 7-8 (ESPN)

X – Bellarmine is ineligible for the NCAA Tournament so ASUN regular season champion Jacksonville State is awarded the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. 

Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.