Sunday, July 21, 2024

FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams: Japan and Saudi Arabia latest to punch tickets to Qatar; 15 spots remain

Getty Images

The 2022 is a World Cup year, but we’ll have to wait until the winter before we see the biggest international soccer competition take center stage. The 2022 FIFA World Cup will get underway in Qatar in November, with the opening match set for Nov. 21 and the final scheduled for Dec. 18. This international break, most confederations will wrap up qualification and fill the majority of the spots remaining. 

As it stands, 17 of the 32 spots have been filled, with Japan — off a dramatic last-minute breakthrough goal — and Saudi Arabia the latest teams to punch their tickets to Qatar. No teams have qualified yet out of Concacaf’s octagonal, though Canada are guaranteed at least a playoff spot. Meanwhile, only two have qualified so far out of South America. Brazil, five-time World Cup winners, are the only team to qualify for every single World Cup. In Europe, what’s more notable, perhaps, is which nations haven’t qualified as both Italy and Portugal are on their way to the playoffs where we are guaranteed to see at least one of them fall short as they are pitted in the same playoff bracket.

Here are all of the teams that have officially qualified for next year’s competition, which will be the last one with 32 teams before expanding to 48 for the 2026 World Cup in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Craving even more coverage of the USMNT’s road to Qatar? Listen below and subscribe to ¡Qué Golazo! A Daily CBS Soccer Podcast where we take you beyond the pitch and around the globe for commentary, previews, recaps and more.   

Teams that have qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022

  • Qatar
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Brazil 
  • France 
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Serbia
  • England
  • Switzerland

  • Argentina
  • Netherlands
  • Iran
  • South Korea
  • Japan
  • Saudi Arabia

Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.