Sunday, August 14, 2022

2022 British Open purse, prize money: Payout for Cameron Smith, each golfer from $14 million championship pool

The final golf major of the season concluded Sunday with Cameron Smith etching his name into the history books at St. Andrews. While the eyes of the field were fixated on joining Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Seve Ballesteros as prior Champion Golfers of the Year on the Old Course, there was more than history on the line at the 150th Open Championship. 

The 2022 Open marked a milestone in the championship’s storied history, but it will also gave way to its largest purse and winner’s share. $14 million will be distributed amongst the field with Smith, the 2022 Champion Golfer of the Year, earning $2.5 million along with the Claret Jug for his stellar play.

Smith (-20) not only won The Open but did so by tying a major championship record for lowest score to par. His back-nine 30 on Sunday was also the lowest score across the second half of a final round in major history. Smith at one point birdied five straight holes on the back nine, wrestling the lead away from Rory McIlroy and holding it through the final hole.

“There have been significant changes in prize money over the last year,” said Martin Slumbers, chief executive of the R&A. “We have therefore increased the prize fund by 22%, which means that the prize money has increased by more than 60% since 2016.”

Despite the increase in the purse, The Open checks in as the fifth-highest payday of the season as it falls behind the three other majors (PGA Championship, Masters and U.S. Open) as well as the Players Championship. The $14 million purse will be shelled out to the top 70 professionals (plus ties) who make the cut. The amateurs who make their way through to the weekend cannot accept monetary prizes.

Let’s take a look at how the payouts for the 150th Open will be divided among those who competed this weekend at St. Andrews.

2022 Open Championship purse, prize money

Total purse: $14 million

1st (Winner): $2,500,000 — Cameron Smith

2nd: $1,455,000 — Cameron Young

3rd: $933,000 — Rory McIlroy

4th: $725,000 — Tommy Fleetwood, Viktor Hovland ($654,000 each)

5th: $583,000

6th: $505,000 — Brian Harman, Dustin Johnson ($469,500 each)

7th: $434,000

8th: $366,000 — Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Jordan Spieth ($325,666 each)

9th: $321,000

10th: $290,000

11th: $264,000 — Sadom Kaewanijana, Abraham Ancer, Tyrrell Hatton, Dean Burmester ($231,000 each)

12th: $234,000

13th: $220,000

14th: $206,000

15th: $191,500 — Lucas Herbert, Xander Schauffele, Anthony Quayle, Francesco Molinari, Adam Scott, Si Woo Kim ($165,583 each)

16th: $176,000

17th: $167,500

18th: $159,750

19th: $153,000

20th: $145,750

21st: $139,000 — Billy Horschel, Min Woo Lee, Trey Mullinax, Shane Lowry, Kevin Kisner, Matt Fitzpatrick, Scottie Scheffler ($120,286 each)

22nd: $132,000

23rd: $125,000

24th: $118,000

25th: $114,000

26th: $109,000

27th: $105,000

28th: $101,500 — Tony Finau, Corey Conners, Harold Varner III, Will Zalatoris, Dylan Frittelli, Thomas Pieters ($90,917 each)

29th: $97,000

30th: $92,000

31st: $89,000

32nd: $84,500

33rd: $81,500

34th: $79,250 — Thomas Detry, Robert MacIntyre, Talor Gooch, Lee Westwood, Sahith Theegala, Jon Rahm, Victor Perez, Aaron Wise ($68,906 each)

35th: $76,500

36th: $73,500

37th: $70,000

38th: $66,500

39th: $64,000

40th: $62,000

41st: $59,500

42nd: $56,500 — Sam Burns, Jason Kokrak, Thriston Lawrence, Adrian Meronk Chris Kirk ($51,000 each)

43rd: $54,000

44th: $51,000

45th: $48,000

46th: $45,500

47th: $43,700 — Patrick Reed, Garrick Higgo, Jordan Smith, Yuto Katsuragawa, Joo-Hyung Kim, Filippo Celli ($40,100 each) 

48th: $42,000

49th: $40,000

50th: $39,100

51st: $38,200

52nd: $37,600

53rd: $37,000 — Joaquin Niemann, Danny Willett, Robert Dinwiddie, Lars Van Meijel, Justin Thomas, Paul Casey, Jason Scrivener, Brad Kennedy, Nicolai Hojgaard ($35,256 each)

54th: $36,500

55th: $35,900

56th: $35,400

57th: $35,000

58th: $34,750

59th: $34,500

60th: $34,250

61st: $34,000

62nd: $33,900 — Cameron Tringagle, Sebastian Munoz, John Parry, David Carey, Ian Poulter, Russell Henley ($33,442 each)

63rd: $33,750

64th: $33,600

65th: $33,400

66th: $33,100

67th: $32,900

68th: $32,600 — Sergio Garcia, Hideki Matsuyama, Christian Bezuidenhout, Richard Mansell ($32,318 each)

69th: $32,400

70th: $32,200

71st: $32,075

72nd: $31,950 — David Law, Kurt Kitayama (($31,888 each)

73rd: $31,825

74th: $31,700 — Marcus Armitage, Justin De Los Santos ($31,638 each)

75th: $31,575

76th: $31,450 — Wyndham Clark, Adri Arnaus, Aaron Jarvis (a) ($31,325 each)

77th: $31,325

78th: $31,200

79th: $31,075 — Barclay Brown (a), Laurie Canter ($31,013 each)

80th: $30,950 

81st: $30,950 — Sam Bairstow (a), Sungjae Im ($30,950 each)

82nd: $30,950

83rd: $30,950 — Jamie Rutherford 

Prize money decreased by $125 per qualifying place above 70 to a minimum of $30,950.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.