Thursday, April 18, 2024

SEC football schedule: League to stick with eight-game conference format for 2025 season

The league considered a nine-game slate but opted to stay at eight for one more year

NCAA Football: Mississippi State at Texas A&M

The SEC will stick with an eight-game conference schedule for the 2025 season, it announced Wednesday. The 2025 conference schedule will replicate the 2024 slate, but with home and away sites flipped. 

The league is set to play its first season with 16 members in 2024 with the additions of Texas and Oklahoma. The top two teams in the standings will earn a trip to the SEC Championship Game, marking the first year without divisions since 1991. SEC commissioner Greg Sankey pointed to a desire to evaluate the effectiveness of the scheduling format before making any changes. 

“We continue to monitor changes across college sports as they relate to future scheduling,” Sankey said in a statement. “Continuing with our current format for the 2025 season provides additional time to understand the impact of the changes happening around us as we determine the appropriate long-term plan for SEC football scheduling.”

The SEC has stuck with an eight-game conference schedule even as other power conferences, including the Big Ten, have moved to a nine-game conference format. Though the SEC seriously considered a move to a nine-game slate with the arrival of Texas and Oklahoma, it is unlikely to immediately receive higher television dollars for doing so, according to multiple reports. Playing four nonconference games also proves essential to many middle- and bottom-tier SEC schools as they attempt to scrape together six wins for bowl eligibility. 

Additionally, the SEC will include more flexibility in its kickoff times for games airing on the SEC Network, according to 247Sports. Instead of going head-to-head against broadcast matchups, SEC Network games could be pushed back 45 minutes to stagger finishes for viewing purposes. 

The full list of home, away and neutral-site opponents for each SEC team in 2025 can be found below. 

Team Home Away Neutral


LSU, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Vanderbilt

Auburn, Georgia, Missouri, South Carolina


Auburn, Mississippi State, Missouri, Texas A&M

LSU, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Texas


Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri

Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt


Mississippi State, Tennessee, Texas

Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Texas A&M

Georgia (Jacksonville)


Alabama, Kentucky, Ole Miss, Texas

Auburn, Mississippi State, Tennessee

Florida (Jacksonville)


Florida, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Texas

Auburn, Georgia, South Carolina, Vanderbilt


Arkansas, Florida, South Carolina, Texas A&M

Alabama, Ole Miss, Oklahoma, Vanderbilt

Mississippi State

Georgia, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Texas

Arkansas, Florida, Missouri, Texas A&M

Ole Miss

Arkansas, Florida, LSU, South Carolina

Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi State, Oklahoma


Alabama, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Texas A&M      

Arkansas, Auburn, Oklahoma, Vanderbilt


Auburn, LSU, Ole Miss, Missouri

Alabama, South Carolina, Tennessee

Texas (Dallas)

South Carolina

Alabama, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Vanderbilt

LSU, Ole Miss, Missouri, Texas A&M      


Arkansas, Georgia, Oklahoma, Vanderbilt

Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi State


Arkansas, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt

Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi State

Oklahoma (Dallas)

Texas A&M 

Auburn, Florida, Mississippi State, South Carolina 

Arkansas, LSU, Missouri, Texas


Auburn, Kentucky, LSU, Missouri

Alabama, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas

Our Latest College Football Stories

Related articles

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.